Bill Skaggs

Bill Skaggs


INDYPROV has been my labor of love for nearly a decade. I’ve laughed (a lot) and cried. I’ve moved mountains and moved lives. I’ve guided this troupe from an 8 person group performing at one venue once a month to 25 members and sold out shows every weekend.

When I look out into the crowd every night and see the faces of people laughing and smiling, all the hard work I’ve put into this performance group is worth it. It almost makes our audience forget about the world’s larger issues, at least

View more


More Info

About My Work:

Our History
INDYPROV began as a series of workshops conducted by David Brunoehler in October 2003 at Crackers Comedy Club in downtown Indianapolis.  David, an Indianapolis native, was a founding member of the troupe Interplay and had co-founded the National Improv Theatre in New York City. David also performed for Paul Newman and Ron Howard.
Several members of the class were led and encouraged by David to form an Improvisational Troupe.  INDYPROV performed for the first time at the restaurant El Sol de Tala on December 15, 2003.  INDYPROV continued to perform at “El Sol de Tala” for several months and followed up with a long-running show at The Funny Bone Comedy Club in Indianapolis before the venue closed.
INDYPROV has since performed at multiple venues in Indiana including:  IUPUI, Metro Nightclub and currently at Talbott Street Nightclub the 3rd Friday of each month. Other venues like Spotlight, Second Story, Bread Ladies and White Rabbit were later added. INDYPROV has also performed for NUVO Newsweekly, Boy Scouts of America and several IndyFringe Shows. In addition, INDYPROV has performed all over the US including New York City, Chicago, Cincinnati and Louisville.
INDYPROV is proud to have original cast member Bill Skaggs, who is now Managing Creative Director for the troupe. One additional cast member (Jerry Johnson) was added after the second set of classes conducted by Mr. Brunoehler. Since Jerry’s addition, a slew of talented performers have seen the bright lights of the INDYPROV stage.

Our Emmy Nomination
INDYPROV was extremely proud to announce they received a local Emmy nomination in 2007. The troupe filmed a segment for WFYI’s “Across Indiana” during the summer of 2006 entitled “For A First-Rate First Date” and received the good news from the show’s Executive Producer, Jim Simmons. After attending one of the troupe’s shows, Simmons approached INDYPROV and asked them to create a tongue-in-cheek piece based on an article they’d received that listed West Lafayette, Indiana as one of the top ten cities in America for singles. The troupe members at the time who particapted were: Michael Witte, Niki Warner, Jennifer Elliott, Justin Estes, Ralph Passman, and Jerry Johnson, and local thespian Gigi Urgo. The group pitched in to produce, co-write, and act in the segment.  INDYPROV is excited and honored by the nomination and are extremely grateful to the local PBS affiliate for providing this wonderful opportunity.  Special thanks to Simmons and co-producer Aric Hartvig, who helped to guide putting together the segment and assembled the final cut.

Core Values
• Volunteerism. INDYPROV has raised thousands of dollars for local and national charities. The group has dedicated their time to help better many organizations like: the March of Dimes, Michael J. Fox Foundation, The Humane Society, Dayspring Center, Damien Center and The National MS Society.

• Education. Teaching the community how to use improvisation in their every day lives is also a goal. In the past, INDYPROV has worked with several local schools in the Indianapolis areas–as well as–a series of educational workshops for the youth at the Mary Rigg Community Center.


Pricing Information:

Tickets vary from $5 to $10 depending on venue


In 2003, INDYPROV was nominated for a Great Lakes regional Emmy award


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>