Application Open for 2021 DeHaan Artist of Distinction Award

Posted by Arts Council of Indianapolis ; Posted on 
Public Art; Social Practice Art; Visual - DEADLINE :  
Application Open for 2021 DeHaan Artist of Distinction Award


As part of its mission, the Arts Council works with local foundations to support and nurture the careers of professional artists. In 2017, the Christel DeHaan Family Foundation (CDFF) and the Arts Council of Indianapolis (ACI) created and piloted a new juried artist grant/award program to provide quick turnaround project funding for professional artists in Indiana that promotes, celebrates, recognizes, and rewards excellence. The aim of the program is to recognize contemporary visual artists and support their exceptional projects.

The DeHaan Artist of Distinction Award Program will honor up to five contemporary visual artists with grants of up to $10,000 each year for aspirational visual arts projects. Each project must demonstrate an immediate need for the requested funds and be completed within the stated deadline. It is intended to allow a high-tolerance for risk and exploration and will provide support for an artist’s creative practice that will help her/him push their work in dynamic ways. Each artist will submit a final report at the end of the process and may be included in a final curated exhibition.

Applications are reviewed quarterly but are accepted on a rolling basis, and may be submitted at any time. All submissions are due by 4:30 pm on the quarterly deadline date. Applications received after 4:30 pm will be included in the next adjudication cycle. Upon selection of the award recipient(s), those applications that were not successfully funded will be reopened so that applicants can make edits to their original application and re-submit for a future deadline.

Our 2021 panelists are C. Ondine Chavoya, Ph.D., Williams College; Kelli Morgan, Ph.D., Tufts University; Melanee Harvey, Ph.D., Howard University; Melynne Klaus, Christel DeHaan Family Foundation; and Shannon Linker, Arts Council of Indianapolis.

Please note that all grant awards are subject to the availability of funds for up to five contemporary artists each year.

For more information and to apply, click here.

For more information, please contact


Artsopolis Network Members: Akron OH | Austin TX | Bainbridge Island WA | Birmingham AL | Boston MA | Cape Cod MA | Cincinnati OH | Cleveland OH | Colorado Springs CO | Columbia SC | DuPage County IL | Durham NC | Essex County MA | Flagstaff AZ | Flint MI | Fort Lauderdale FL | Indianapolis IN | Kalamazoo MI | Kansas City MO | KeepMovingOKC | Macon GA | Main Line Area PA | Marin County CA | Marquette County MI | Mendocino County CA | Middlesex County NJ | Milwaukee WI | Montgomery County MD | Napa Valley CA | Nashville TN | Niagara County NY | Oklahoma City OK | Orange County CA | Orlando FL | Ottawa IL | Panama City FL | Pittsburgh PA | Providence RI | Richardson TX | Sacramento CA | San Antonio TX | St. Cloud MN | St. Croix Valley MN/WI | St. Johns County FL | Stillwater MN | Tallahassee FL | Utah | Ventura CA | York County PA