IMPORTANT! Due to the response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) events on this site may be postponed or canceled.CLICK HERE for More Details.

Arts Commission Seeks Nominations for Indiana Poet Laureate

Posted by Indiana Arts Commission ; Posted on 
Arts Commission Seeks Nominations for Indiana Poet Laureate


Arts Commission seeks nominations for Indiana Poet Laureate

The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today it is currently accepting nominations for Indiana State Poet Laureate.

The Indiana Poet Laureate represents the state and the art of poetry through the development and implementation of programming to the educational community and general public. Making formal presentations at various educational facilities and events, the State Poet Laureate pursues individual initiatives to advance the knowledge and appreciation of poetry throughout the state, and offers advice to the Commission regarding ways to further the art of poetry in Indiana.

“In my travels throughout the state, I’ve been impressed by the audience for poetry and enthusiasm it engenders,” said current State Poet Laureate Shari Wagner. “From school children to seniors, there’s the recognition that poetry connects us to each other and the land we inhabit – that it has the power to preserve, engage, and transform. Serving as an ambassador for poetry has been an incredible blessing, full of new friendships and opportunities to promote what I care for so deeply.”

Nominations for Indiana Poet Laureate should be limited to one, single-page letter and a resume or CV detailing the nominee’s qualifications and accomplishments. No additional materials should be included with the initial nomination.

Successful nominees must be current residents of the State of Indiana and remain residents during their two-year term of service as Indiana Poet Laureate. Nominees should be published poets, with experience in educational program development.

Nominations must be submitted to the Indiana Arts Commission by email only, and must be received by 4:30 p.m. (EDT) Friday, September 1, 2017.

Nominations should be sent to Stephanie Haines:

All nominations will be reviewed by a committee of representatives from Indiana’s major institutions of higher education. The executive director of the Arts Commission leads the selection committee. The committee will be convened this fall to begin review of nominations. The selected poet will begin serving a two-year term January 1, 2017.

Increasing awareness of poetry and the power of the written and spoken word was the inspiration behind legislation signed into law in 2005 creating the State Poet Laureate program. Joyce Brinkman was the inaugural Indiana Poet Laureate. Norbert Krapf, Karen Kovacik, and George Kalamaras preceded Shari Wagner as State Poets Laureate.

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, every day, for everyone in Indiana.


Artsopolis Network Members: Akron OH | Austin TX | Bainbridge Island WA | Birmingham AL | Boston MA | Cape Cod MA | Cincinnati OH | Cleveland OH | Colorado Springs CO | Columbia SC | DuPage County IL | Durham NC | Essex County MA | Flagstaff AZ | Flint MI | Fort Lauderdale FL | Indianapolis IN | Kalamazoo MI | Kansas City MO | KeepMovingOKC | Macon GA | Main Line Area PA | Marin County CA | Marquette County MI | Mendocino County CA | Middlesex County NJ | Milwaukee WI | Montgomery County MD | Napa Valley CA | Nashville TN | Niagara County NY | Oklahoma City OK | Orange County CA | Orlando FL | Ottawa IL | Panama City FL | Pittsburgh PA | Providence RI | Quito, Ecuador | Richardson TX | Sacramento CA | San Antonio TX | St. Cloud MN | St. Croix Valley MN/WI | St. Johns County FL | Stillwater MN | Tallahassee FL | Tampa Bay FL | Utah | Ventura CA | York County PA