IMPORTANT! Due to the response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) events on this site may be postponed or canceled.CLICK HERE for More Details.

Wes Montgomery Tribute Day - Concerts and Panel Discussions

Posted by Jazz Fest ; Posted on 
Wes Montgomery Tribute Day - Concerts and Panel Discussions
    Website
/

   

WES MONTGOMERY TRIBUTE DAY | 4 STAGES | 40+ BANDS
SEPTEMBER 17

Sponsored by IUPUI & REI Real Estate
Part of and made possible by the Indiana Bicentennial Celebration

Where: IUPUI Campus Center (420 University Blvd, Indianapolis, IN 46202)
When: Saturday, September 17, 2016
Times: 1-8p | doors at 12:30p
Pricing:
Lobby concerts, exhibits, discussions – FREE
Main Performances – Sunset Terrace Ballroom & The Cotton Club | $25 adults | $10 students w/ID
VIP – Access to all shows + hors d’oeuvres, reserved seating, beverages – $150 (limited to 100 people)

Parking: – $6 parking | IUPUI Campus Center Garage – West side of the building.
Click here for a map of available free parking. (coming soon)

Some of the biggest names in jazz guitar converge for an all-ages, conference style, interactive day of concerts, workshops, vendors, panel discussions.

The Guitarists …

Pat Martino – Jimmy Smith Jack McDuff, Chick Corea | patmartino.com
Russell Malone – Jimmy Smith, Diana Krall, Harry Connick Jr | russellmalone
Chuck Loeb – Fourplay, Stan Getz, Ray Barreto, Steps Ahead | chuckloeb.com
Peter Bernstein – Joshua Redman, Melvin Rhyne, Christian McBride | peterbernsteinmusic.com
Dave Stryker – Stanley Turrentine, Jack McDuff, Steve Slagle | davestryker.com
Bobby Broom – Sonny Rollins, Art Blakey, Dr John | bobbybroom.com
Fareed Haque – Sting, Joe Henderson, Joe Zawinul | fareed.com
Henry Johnson – Ramsey Lewis, Stanley Turrentine, Nancy Wilson | henryjohnsonjazz.com
Will Matthews – Count Basie Orchestra, Melvin Rhyne | willmatthews.com
Royce Campbell – Henry Mancini, Marvin Gaye, Quincy Jones | roycecampbell.com
Steve Weakley – Billy Wooten, Funk, Inc. | facebook.com/steven.weakley2
Bill Lancton – The Coalition, Dog Talk | billlancton.com
Sandy Williams – Michael Feinstein, Carrie Newcomer, Liza Minnelli
Joel Tucker – facebook.com/joel.tucker
Charlie Ballantine – charlie ballantine
Ryan Taylor – facebook.com/ryan.taylor
Frank Steans – Winston Walls
Patrick Wright – facebook.com/patrick.wright
Tony Davis – Steve Davis | facebook.com/tony.davis
supporting acts…
Bobby Floyd – Columbus Jazz Orchestra, Count Basie Orchestra, Dr. John | bobbyfloyd.com
Kenny Phelps – Dee Dee Bridgewater | facebook.com/kenny.phelps
•• Schedule of Events – times and personnel subject to change ••
SUNSET TERRACE BALLROOM | MAIN STAGE | 4TH FLOOR | TICKETED STAGE
2-4p | Pat Martino Trio + Bobby Broom, Henry Johnson, Peter Bernstein
4:30-5:30p | Young Lions featuring Tony Davis & Joel Tucker
6-8p | Russell Malone Trio + Chuck Loeb, Royce Campbell, Fareed Haque

THE COTTON CLUB | KLIPSCH THEATER | TL – LOWER LEVEL | TICKETED STAGE
1:30-2:30p | Will Matthews + Bobby Floyd & Kenny Phelps
3-4p | Dave Stryker / Fareed Haque + Bobby Floyd & Kenny Phelps
5-7p | Indy Guitar Summit | Bill Lancton, Steve Weakley, Sandy Williams, Frank Steans
AL’S BRITISH LOUNGE | ATRIUM STAGE | 1ST FLOOR (NE CORNER) | FREE STAGE
1-1:45p | Patrick Wright Trio
2-2:45p | Tucker Brothers Quartet
3-3:45p | IUPUI Jazz Ensemble
4-4:45p | DJ Kyle Long | Wes Tribute Trio | Ryan Taylor, “Sleepy” Floyd, Frank Smith
5-5:45p | Hot Horns | New Orleans Inspired, Horn driven band
6-6:45p | Charlie Ballantine Quartet

CLUB 440 | COMMONS STAGE | 1ST FLOOR | FOOD COURT | FREE STAGE
12:45-1:30p | Chris Parker Trio
1:45-2:30p | Indy Jazz Fest – Jazz Futures
2:45-3:15p | TBA
3:30-4:15p | Butler Youth Jazz Ensemble
4:30-5:15p | Butler College Jazz Ensemble
5:30-6:15p | Arsenal Tech High School Jazz Ensemble
6:30-7:15p | IU Jazz Ensemble

MISSILE ROOM | 4TH FLOOR | ROOM 405 | FREE

Zev Feldman, Resonance Records & Robert Montgomery, Wes’ son preside over a day’s worth of insights and historical gems, new “lost” tapes and other Wes related cool-ness.

THE HUB BUB | 4TH FLOOR | ROOM 409 | FREE
PANEL DISCUSSIONS | WORKSHOPS
1-1:40p –
2-2:40p – Indiana Avenue historians
3-3:40 –
4-4:40 – Panel Discussion
5-5:40 – the others – Monk, Buddy, Pookie, Melvin, Paul
6-6:40 –

Mark Sheldon Photography | Indiana Jazz Legends
The exhibit chronicles photographs and biographies of more than 35 Indianapolis Jazz Musicians from the heyday of Indiana Avenue to the present. Many of the biographical anecdotes are courtesy of David Williams and his book Indianapolis Jazz: The Masters, Legends and Legacy of Indiana Avenue.

Meet and Greets

Book signing by David Williams, author, The Masters, Legends and Legacy of Indiana Avenue

For more information, visit http://www.indyjazzfest.net/?tribe_events=wes-montgomery-tribute-day-5-stages-30-bands#.V6JKL_QrJpi

PARTNERS