IMPORTANT! Due to the response to Coronavirus (COVID-19) events on this site may be postponed or canceled.CLICK HERE for More Details.

FAMILY-FRIENDLY EVENTS


Season's Readings * Wintry & Wonderful Storytelling

Presented by Phoenix Theatre at Online/Virtual Space

November 23 - January 08

Enjoy the season with your favorite Phoenix actors reading beloved holiday children's stories! The series premieres Thanksgiving Week featuring Indy actor Jolene Mentink Moffatt reading Over the River & Through the Wood by Linda Ashman about how all shapes and sizes of families come together to celebrate the holidays. Upcoming books showcase Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and LGBTQ-inclusive themes, in addition to kid-favorite holiday characters and wonderfully wintry, snowy days.

“As we conclude what...

[more+]

Enjoy the season with your favorite Phoenix actors reading beloved holiday children's stories! The series premieres Thanksgiving Week featuring Indy actor Jolene Mentink Moffatt reading Over the River & Through the Wood by Linda Ashman about how all shapes and sizes of families come together to celebrate the holidays. Upcoming books showcase Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and LGBTQ-inclusive themes, in addition to kid-favorite holiday characters and wonderfully wintry, snowy days.

“As we conclude what most of us would describe as a tumultuous and trying year, bringing artists and audiences together to celebrate illustrated children’s books seems like a lovely way to bring us a little closer together as we head into 2021,” said Bill Simmons, artistic director of the Phoenix Theatre Cultural Centre who will also perform Twas the Night Before Christmas. “Whether you’re a kid or a kid at heart, you’ll not want to miss these fun, one-of-a-kind performances by some of Indy’s most amazing actors.”

Scheduled to appear in the series is a wide range of noted and award-winning actors who have graced Indy’s stages. Milicent Wright tells the story written by Newbery Honor-winning author Patricia C. McKissack and illustrated by Caldecott Medal-winning illustrator Jerry Pinkney about a little girl, Nella, sharing the best gift in The All-I’ll-Ever-Want Christmas Doll.  Ben Asaykwee brings to life the LGBTQ-inclusive story of Peter celebrating his colorful feathers in The Enchanted Page Book Award-winner A Peacock Among Pigeons.

Comedic actor John Vessels, Broadway World's 2019 Regional "Best Actor in a Play," presents his twist on Dr. Seuss’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas on December 1. He’ll be followed on the first day of Hanukkah by Adrienne Reiswerg who will bring us Hanukkah Haiku, a book praised by the Jewish Book Council for its “exquisitely illustrated...Chagall-like” paintings that “capture the joy and excitement of Hanukkah.” Similarly, on the first day of Kwanzaa, we present Josiah McCruiston’s personally selected story Santa’s Kwanzaa.

Rounding out the Season’s Readings selections is the childhood holiday double feature of Frosty the Snowman read by Arianne Villareal and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer performed by Carlos Medina Maldonando.

“One of the best gifts you can give a child is the love of books,” said Jackie Nytes, chief executive officer of the Indianapolis Public Library. “We hope this Season’s Readings storytelling series helps ignite that spark in children throughout Indianapolis this holiday season.”

Each performance will be shared on Phoenix Theatre and Indianapolis Public Library social media platforms including Facebook. The series runs through early 2021 with the final story Snow read by Jan Lucas to be released on January 8. For more information and a full schedule, go to www.PhoenixTheatre.org.

About the Phoenix Theatre

The Phoenix Theatre (phoenixtheatre.org) is a professional, Equity theatre in Indianapolis producing contemporary, issue-oriented plays.  Performances are year-round from its two stages at the Phoenix Theatre Cultural Centre:  the mainstage Livia and Steve Russell Theatre and the cabaret-style Frank and Katrina Basile Theatre. The Phoenix serves as a catalyst in the Indianapolis region to help nurture new talent, showcase diverse voices, and engage audiences with unique, contemporary productions.  Its mission includes growing the community’s reputation as an arts destination and serving as a hub to showcase local artists, host events, and help its neighborhood thrive.

About the Indianapolis Public Library

The Indianapolis Public Library (indypl.org) is the center of knowledge, community life, and innovation for residents of Indianapolis, Lawrence, Beech Grove, and Marion County, Indiana. Operating in 23 locations along with a Bookmobile and circulating over 14 million items annually, the Library provides materials, programs and services in support of lifelong learning for residents of all ages and backgrounds.

[less-]

Dates & times

Mon, Nov 23 @ 10:00 am Tue, Nov 24 @ 10:00 am Wed, Nov 25 @ 10:00 am + 44 more dates and times

Thu, Nov 26 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 27 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 28 @ 10:00 am Sun, Nov 29 @ 10:00 am Mon, Nov 30 @ 10:00 am Tue, Dec 01 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 02 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 03 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 04 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 05 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 06 @ 10:00 am Mon, Dec 07 @ 10:00 am Tue, Dec 08 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 09 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 10 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 11 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 12 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 13 @ 10:00 am Mon, Dec 14 @ 10:00 am Tue, Dec 15 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 16 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 17 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 18 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 19 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 20 @ 10:00 am Mon, Dec 21 @ 10:00 am Tue, Dec 22 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 23 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 24 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 25 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 26 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 27 @ 10:00 am Mon, Dec 28 @ 10:00 am Tue, Dec 29 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 30 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 31 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 01 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 02 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 03 @ 10:00 am Mon, Jan 04 @ 10:00 am Tue, Jan 05 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 06 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 07 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 08 @ 10:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Free Admission

6198508698

boblehman25@gmail.com

OUR ARTS EDUCATION PARTNERS